Customer reviews for Energizer® Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger

Energizer® Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger

This page contains descriptions of the Energizer AA and AAA Rechargeable Batteries and Battery charger products. Find detailed Information about AA Rechargeable Batteries, AAA Rechargeable Batteries and a variety of Battery chargers.
Overall rating:
3.469 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
9
22 out of 3269%of reviewers recommend this
Customer reviews for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Review 1 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Great product with room for improvement

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer avatarEnergizedPhotographer
I'm a professional photographer and I run through my rechargeable batteries quickly. I purchased this charger to recharge my Energizer 2300 mAh rechargeable batteries. It does a great job of charging my batteries in a reasonably short period of time. My bag is usually packed tight though and I just wished the metal prongs that plug into the wall folded away for a better fit in my bag and less potential to scratch valuable items. That would make this product perfect for me. Otherwise, I love it.
From:Yardley, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
I've used this product for:6-10 years
Review 2 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

only lasted a few months.....

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer avatarNo1uknow
I bought this a few months ago to use on my digital camera. I didn't use it that much either since I don't take many pictures and now when I put the batteries in the light goes from red to green in approximately 1 second intervals as does the fan. I was awesome while it lasted unfortunately didn't last very long.......
From:California
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
I've used this product for:21-30 years
Response from EnergizerBy EnergizerTimConsumer AffairsSeptember 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize about the experience you have had with your Rapid Charger as this is very uncommon. We would like to learn more about your experience to better assist you. Please call Energizer Consumer Affairs at 1.800.383.7323 to discuss this under the terms of our guarantee.
Review 3 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Broken in a few weeks

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer avatarBrett
The spring loaded battery adjustment port broke, I can hear rattling on the inside.. had my previous model for years and years... this is cheap plastic inside.. Stay away..
From:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
I've used this product for:31+
Response from EnergizerBy EnergizerTimConsumer AffairsAugust 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize about the experience you have had with the Energizer Rapid Charger. This is very uncommon and it should certainly be performing better than this. Please call Energizer Consumer Affairs at 1.800.383.7323 to discuss this under the terms of our guarantee.
Review 4 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

Very good product

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Customer avatarzeta
Nice product, I charged many times my batteries in only 20 minutes.
I have one question because my wall transformer exploded, do you sell this transformer separately from the entire package of the rapid charger?
Now I'm using my car transformer instead of the wall, but I want to buy a replace for my wall transformer.. I have not found yet an universal charger that outputs 16v and 2.5A. Thanks
From:Paraguay
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
I've used this product for:Under 1 year
Review 5 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Very Fussy About Batteries Used

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatarmykecusa
With new Energizer batteries this unit works just fine. With my older Energizer batteries and other brand batteries it is a dud. I compare results with the older Racovac 15 minute charger for charging IC3 batteries. That unit was A+ until the AC charging unit failed. Its negative was it needed IC3 batteries. This Energizer unit needs new Energizer batteries. Strikes me as a trade off. As noted I must keep it supplied with new Energizer batteries, but not all Energizer Ni-MH batteries work either (though they do work in the 8 hour chargers I have). I keep this in my car with (8) AA and (4) AAA batteries for a reasonably quick (less than 30 minutes) charge of a set of batteries. This works for me.
From:california
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
I've used this product for:31+
Review 6 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.

Failed after about 6 weeks

PostedJune 9, 2013
Customer avatarIvorD
Thought this was a great product for the first few weeks when I used it repeatedly for a surveillance camera, charging batteries while on my way to the location. Didn't use it for a month or so then today the green light comes on and stays on even with discharged (or no) batteries in it. Light never goes red. Fan doesn't start. Useless. Can't find the receipt now either. Sigh.
From:Los Altos, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
I've used this product for:Under 1 year
Response from EnergizerBy EnergizerTimConsumer AffairsJune 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize about the experience you have had with our Rapid charger as this is very uncommon. Please call Energizer Consumer Affairs at 1.800.383.7323 to discuss this under the terms of our guarantee.
Review 7 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.

Doesn't charge!

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer avatarTheOwnKnown4
As soon as I got this product it would not charge.
I had the recommended batteries so I didn't think it was that
replaced them with new batteries (recommended and another brand just in case) but to no avail!
I'm going to have to return this..
And apparently a LOT of people agree with me.
Response from EnergizerBy EnergizerTimConsumer AffairsMay 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize about the experience you have had with this charger as this is certainly unexpected. Please call Energizer Consumer Affairs at 1.800.383.7323 to discuss this under the terms of our guarantee.
Review 8 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.

Does NOT work.

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer avatarJoAnn13
I bought this a couple of months ago on Amazon. This unit was a replacement for a RayOvac 15 minute charger that lasted over 7 years. Before that I had a Sears unit that also lasted many years (not a rapid charger).
I've tried using several brands of batteries incase that was the problem, but nothing works. The fan will turn on for a few seconds, then stop. Regardless of which batteries are in the unit, the red light flashes and batteries don't charge. The RayOvac only cost about $18 when I bought it.......this unit is more than twice that cost, and useless. seems there are enough complaints about this product to take it off the market.
From:Providence
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I've used this product for:31+
Response from EnergizerBy EnergizerTimConsumer AffairsMay 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize about the experience you have had with this charger as we certainly do not expect this. Please contact Energizer Consumer Affairs at 1.800.383.7323 to discuss this under the terms of our guarantee.
Review 9 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.

Terrible Product

PostedApril 27, 2013
Customer avatarDisgruntled
Bought the rapid charger as a solution to all my AA needs. It worked ok for the first few charges and then it wouldn't charge any more.
At first I thought it was the batteries, but no, any series of similar batteries won't charge i get alternate green and red flashing lights.
The charger is similar to other manufacturers rapid chargers and cost more, I think I will get a different one, while i wait for a replacement.
From:Tr--State Area
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
I've used this product for:11-20 years
Response from EnergizerBy EnergizerTimConsumer AffairsApril 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize about the experience you have had with this charger. We certainly expect more from our chargers and would like to learn more. Please call Energizer Consumer Affairs at 1.800.383.7323 to discuss this under the terms of our guarantee.
Review 10 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.

Worst I've ver owned

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer avatarVDOMKR
Already had to return several batteries that wouldn't charge and now this charger doesn't even charge the batteries that came with it. You get nothing but constant red flashing light meaning it's not working when using only batteries that are made for this device. Funny thing it I have an old Rayovak charger that charges ANY rechargeable batteries. I've always been a fan of energizer, but after all this aggravation, I'll never buy another energizer product.
From:St. Louis
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
I've used this product for:31+
Response from EnergizerBy EnergizerTimConsumer AffairsApril 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize about the experience you have had wtih this charger. This is certainly uncommon and we would be happy to assist you in resolving this. Please call Energizer Consumer Affairs at 1.800.383.7323 to discuss this under the terms of our guarantee.
Review 11 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.

I loved, but within a week it's not working!

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer avatarMomto3
We bought three chargers, the rapid one broke within a week. It blinks between green and red and refuses to just stay on red until it charges. It's frustrating because of how expensive this was. I'd love to say it's worth the money, seemed to be, but not if we can't get more than a weeks use out of it. The smart charger that we brought broke too, three months later... now we are down to the value charger and will have to wait hours for our batteries to charge, which is a huge bummer when you have three kids all with their own leappads, all where the batteries run out at the same time... UGH!
From:Kenmore, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I've used this product for:11-20 years
Response from EnergizerBy EnergizerTimConsumer AffairsMarch 27, 2013
Thank you for yoru review. I apologize about the experience you have had with our product. We would like to learn more. Please call Energizer Consumer Affairs at 1.800.383.7323 to discuss this under the terms of our guarantee.
Review 12 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.

Great design

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatarKitchen
But a little bit noise during charging. So if any promotion will be except
From:Shanghai
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
I've used this product for:Under 1 year
Review 13 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.

Rapid Charger

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer avatarTBONE389
ITS GREAT BUT SOME TIMES IT DON'T LIKE TO GHARGE OLD BATTERIES. I HAVE BATTERIES 3 YEARS OLD AND THE RED LITE BLINKS.BUT OVER ALL IT WORK GOOD FOR WHAT IT IS..
From:WASHOUGAL,WASHINGTON
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
I've used this product for:21-30 years
Review 14 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

AWESOME Product, has saved my butt many times!!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer avatarBassGeisha
WOW I can't get enough of this product, forreal. At work, I am in charge of taking photographs at events. My Canon takes 4AA batteries and I've always preferred rechargeable due to environmental friendliness. These things have been a*LIFE SAVER* so many times. No waiting 1, 3, 6..*8* HOURS to charge..if that were the case I'd need to charge many sets days ahead of time!! with this AND the awesome car charger, I have 2 sets. bam.
Energizer is boss.
Be careful you use the specific mah batteries!! ^.^
From:Chattanooga, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I've used this product for:6-10 years
Review 15 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Portability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.

seems a little tempermental with some batteries.

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer avatarNiCad
Seems to not like an awfully lot of batteries. About 50% of ours make the charger blink red. They will charge on a trickle charger. Little frustrating figuring out which one of the three or four it doesnt like. But it does charge fast which is the goal. BTW these are all energizer batteries some very new and some a few years old.
From:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
I've used this product for:1-5 years
My product choices are primarily driven by:Meeting family needs
My recharge battery activities are:Everyday
I purchase rechargeables in packs of:4 pack
Review 16 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

EXCELLENT FOR CAMERAS AND MORE

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer avatarYANKEEDOLL
Pros:Reliability, Ease of use, Reusable Power, Portability
We have two of these and each one is in our computer bag and one or both always come with us on our travels. No more trying to find batteries deep in the woods on vacation and no more NO pictures because we don't have batteries. We also use our rechargeable batteries in mouse, headphones and around the house. Love LOVE LOVE not tossing used batteries into the earth. Fast and well, FAST charging!
From:TULSA OK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I've used this product for:1-5 years
My product choices are primarily driven by:Environmental impact
My purchase style is:Reviewing many choices to get the best perceived value
My recharge battery activities are:Occasional
I purchase rechargeables in packs of:8 pack
Review 17 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Good charger, with great portability

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer avatarGrandmaDi
Pros:Ease of use, Portability
This is a good charger. I wish the charge lasted a little longer, but overall, I would recommend it,
From:Hallsville, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I've used this product for:Under 1 year
My product choices are primarily driven by:Environmental impact
My purchase style is:Reviewing many choices to get the best perceived value
My recharge battery activities are:Everyday
I purchase rechargeables in packs of:8 pack
Review 18 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.

Very fast

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Customer avatarUkidmenot
Pros:Reliability, Ease of use, good value
If you have kids with toys or electronics that need lots of batteries then this is for you. Charges in 15 minutes so dying batteries don't have to kill the day. Comes with a car adapter too!
From:Vancouver sland, BC
Age:I’d rather not say
Gender:Female
I've used this product for:1-5 years
My product choices are primarily driven by:Meeting family needs
My purchase style is:Reviewing many choices to get the best perceived value
My recharge battery activities are:Everyday
I purchase rechargeables in packs of:4 pack
Review 19 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.

rapid charger

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer avatarAnonymous
Pros:Reliability, Ease of use, Reusable Power
I have used this rapid charger many time. It does the job quickly. Wont try any other name brands since this one works so well.
From:east haven, ct
Review 20 for Energizer Recharge Rapid Charger
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

Great Charger, Especially When Traveling

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatarJanet7
Pros:Reliability, Ease of use, Innovation, Portability
I have a Rapid Charger. I've found that it's invaluable, especially while I'm on vacation since I don't have the luxury of time. The Rapid Charger charges my batteries quicker than a standard charger does. This means that I always have a set of fully-charged batteries at my disposal and that is important when I'm trying to capture precious vacation memories.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I've used this product for:1-5 years
My product choices are primarily driven by:Meeting family needs
My purchase style is:Reviewing many choices to get the best perceived value
My recharge battery activities are:Everyday
I purchase rechargeables in packs of:4 pack
1 2 next>>